• Valle Alto del Lozoya

    San Mamés

    San Mamés forms a single municipality together with Navarredonda in the Community of Madrid. Its main activity has always been linked to the exploitation of its pastures and forests.

    This village was built on settlements of Berber shepherds after the Reconquest next to the stream of El Chorro, named after the showy squirt that interrupts its course.

    Among its heritage stands out the Church , founded in the eleventh century and where the coronation of Joan "La Loca" took place, first queen of Castile and Aragon. This church was practically destroyed during the Spanish Civil War.

    Although both peoples have maintained judicial unity since the 19th century, it wasn't until 2001 that the municipality begins to be collectively referred to as Navarredonda and San Mamés.

    ¡Descubre con Sierra Norte de Madrid the peoples of Madrid!

    Municipality information

    Altitude: 1.160 m

    Nº people: 61

    Related tourist information

We use our own cookies to allow safe browsing and adapt the content of the website, third-party cookies are also used to analyze users' browsing and to be able to show you advertising that is of interest to you. Cookies Policy

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best possible browsing experience. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or click "Accept" you will be giving your consent to this.